The City of Durban is located in the east coast of South Africa, in the province of KwaZulu-Natal (KZN). KZN is also known as “the garden province” and was created in 1994 after the first democratic elections. It enjoys a long shoreline beside the Indian Ocean and sharing borders with three other provinces and the countries of Mozambique, Swaziland and Lesotho.

It is also seen as one of the major centres of tourism because of the city’s warm subtropical climate and extensive beaches. Durban was named by The New York Times as one of the 52 must-see places of 2015. Lastly, Durban was voted Africa’s leading meeting and conference destination by World Travel Awards 2014 and 2015. In addition, Durban is close to some of the province of KwaZulu-Natal’s internationally renowned natural attractions, pre-historical and historical sites. Some of its key natural attractions include:

  • The uKhahlamba Drakensberg Park, and
  • ISimangaliso Wetland Park World Heritage Sites,
  • Game reserves such as Hluhluwe-uMfolozi, South Africa’s oldest game reserve and where the white rhino was saved from extinction, and
  • Tembe Elephant Park, which reportedly has the biggest elephants in Africa.